Kennedy wins State Senate race thanks to strong showing in Bibb

By Larry Stanford

May 21, 2014

Contested Race Results with 155 of 159 counties reporting to the Georgia Secretary of State’s Office as of 9 a.m. Wednesday morning, May 21, 2014.

State Senate, District 18, Republican

Macon attorney John F. Kennedy used his stronghold of votes in Bibb County to defeat Thomaston doctor Spencer Price for the State Senate seat in District 18. Kennedy won the seat with 9,196 votes to Price’s 7,015. Kennedy won big in Bibb with 4,920 votes to Price’s 1,993. If you subtract the Bibb totals, Price held the lead, 5,022 votes, to Kennedy’s 4,276. Price’s biggest win came in Upson, where he had 1,872 votes to Kennedy’s 1, 077. Price also won in Crawford, Monroe and Peach counties, while Kennedy won in Houston and Bibb counties. There was not a Democrat opponent, so Kennedy will take the seat without opposition in the November election.

U. S. Senate:

Republican David Perdue and Democrat Michelle Nunn won the U. S. Senate race in Upson County. Statewide, Perdue and Jack Kingston will vie for the bid in a runoff in July. Perdue led with 30.56 percent of the votes to Kingston’s 25.96 percent. Karen Handel came in third with 21.78 percent, while Phil Gingrey was fourth with 10.07 percent and Paul Broun was fifth with 9.70 percent. Derrick Grayson had 1 percent and Art Gardner had 0.93 percent.

On the Democrat side, Michelle Nunn won easily with 75.33 percent of the votes. Steen Miles had 11.05 percent, Todd Robinson had 10.20 percent, and Branko Radulovacki had 3.43 percent.

U. S. House of Representatives, District 3

Republican Incumbent Lynn Westmoreland won handily in both Upson County and the remaining 12 counties in his district, taking 69.47 percent to opponent Chip Flanegan’s 30.53 percent. Westmoreland is unopposed in November.


Incumbent Republican Governor Nathan Deal and Democratic challenger Jason Carter won in Upson County. Statewide, Deal led with 72.11 percent of the vote Tuesday night. David Pennington had 16.73 percent, and John Barge had 11.17 percent. Jason Carter was unopposed.

Secretary of State

Incumbent Republican Secretary of State Brian Kemp and Democratic challenger Doreen Carter won in Upson County. Statewide, Carter led with 68.53 percent of the vote to Gerald Beckum’s 31.47 percent. Kemp was unopposed.

Insurance Commissioner

Incumbent Republican Insurance Commissioner Ralph Hudgens and Democratic challenger Elizabeth Johnson won in Upson. Hudgens was unopposed and Johnson led statewide with 69 percent of the votes to Keith Heard’s 30.43 percent.

State School Superintendent

In the most contested race on the ballot, Republican candidate Richard L. Woods and Democratic candidate Valarie D. Wilson won in Upson County. Statewide, Woods came in second to Mike Buck and the two will face-off in the July runoff. Buck had 19.62 percent to Woods’ 16.88 percent. Of the other seven Republican candidates, Mary Kay Bacallao had 15.35 percent, Ashley Bell had 15.07 percent, Nancy Jester had 10.53 percent, T. Fitz Johnson had 7.66 percent, Allen Fort had 6.33 percent, Sharyl Dawes had 5.45 percent, and Kira Willis had 3.11 percent.

There will also be a runoff on the Democrat side between Wilson and Alisha Morgan. Wilson led with 31.94 percent, while Morgan had 26.39 percent. Of the other four contenders, Denise Freeman had 18.73 percent, Tarnisha Dent had 13.70 percent, Jurita Mays had 5.67 percent, and Rita Robinzine had 3.57 percent.

Public Service Commission, District 4

Republican Incumbent Lauren McDonald easily won in Upson and led with 62.31 percent statewide. Douglas Kidd collected 20.85 percent, and Craig Lutz had 16.84 percent. McDonald will face Democrat Daniel A. Blackman, who ran unopposed.

Yatesville City Council

Shane Moore defeated Billy Penn to fill the remaining term of the late Elmer Kent on the Yatesville City Council. Moore had 62 percent, or 69 votes, to Penn’s 38 percent, or 42 votes.

Local uncontested race winners:

State House, District 131 – Johnnie Caldwell

County Commission District 3 – Ralph Ellington

County Commission District 4 – Frank Spraggins

Board of Education, District 2 – Jacqueline Hollis

Board of Education, District 4 – Keith Rohling

Board of Education, District 6 – Steve Sadler

Larry Stanford may be reached at 706-647-5414 or on Twitter @LarryStanford7.